Share this site - Email/Facebook/Twitter/Pinterest

A Super Seventies RockSite! EXTRA!

 Santana Sizzles in Switzerland

Blacklight Bar

Multiple Grammy-winner Santana lands Feb. 21
in a captivating live set of greatest hits.

Live At Montreux 2011
ROCK (Eagle Rock Entertainment)

By Fontana/UMG Mktg.

Santana - Live At Montreux 2011agle Rock Entertainment released Santana Live At Montreux 2011, an exhilarating set of jazz, Latin, funk, soul and rock 'n' roll, on February 21 on a 2 DVD set & Blu-ray. The 23-song show weighs heavily on the side of the songs that fans of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame guitarist (inducted in 1998) have loved over the years.

Filmed in high-definition and recorded in DTS-HD Master Audio, Dolby Digital 5.1 and LPCM Stereo, it's a total jam-packed evening of percolating percussion, soaring lead guitar solos and the kind of funky bass/drum action that has kept this band in the forefront of popular music for over 40 years.

Live At Montreux 2011 is a career-spanning show that covers all the bases: from Tito Puente's "Oye Como Va," Fleetwood Mac's "Black Magic Woman," Babatunde Olatunji's "Jingo" and Willie Bobo's "Evil Ways" to John Coltrane's "A Love Supreme." Carlos Santana has always had a knack for making his cover versions become spectacularly his own. His interpretive flair reached its zenith with 2010's Guitar Heaven which contains his scintillating take on Cream's "Sunshine Of Your Love." Add his numerous originals, including "Smooth" and "Maria Maria," his signature style of inspired and spiritual guitar playing and you have the kind of DVD that burns with intensity.

Extras include interviews with Carlos and Cindy Blackman Santana, and a very special peek behind-the-scenes. Guest artists include the husband/wife guitar team of Susan Tedeschi and Allman Brother Derek Trucks as well as drummer/wife Cindy Blackman Santana. Over three hours long, this is the Santana concert his fans have been waiting for!

For forty years and as many albums later, Santana has sold more than 90 million records and reached more than 100 million fans at concerts worldwide. To date, Santana has won ten Grammy® Awards, including a record-tying nine for a single project, 1999's Supernatural (including Album of the Year and Record of the Year for "Smooth"). In 1998, the group was ushered into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, whose web page on their induction notes, "Guitarist Carlos Santana is one of rock's true virtuosos and guiding lights." Among many other honors, Carlos Santana has also been cited by Rolling Stone as #15 on their list of the "100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time." His last CD, Guitar Heaven... The Greatest Guitar Classics of All Time (Arista) was released in 2010. Celebrating that chart debut, Santana joined the ranks of the Rolling Stones as the only musical act in chart history to score at least one Top 10 album in every decade beginning with the 1960s. Guitar Heaven was Santana's 29th Billboard Top 200 charting release, 12th Top 10 album debut and third Top 10 debut in the past 7 years.  


Disc 1:

 1. "Spark Of The Divine"
 2. "SOCC"
 3. "Back In Black"
 4. "Singing Winds, Crying Beasts"
 5. "Black Magic Woman" / "Gypsy Queen"
 6. "Oye Como Va"
 7. "Maria Maria"
 8. "Foo Foo"
 9. "Corazon Espinado" / "Guajira"
10. "Benny & Cindy" Solo
11. "Jingo"
12. Carlos Speaks / "Novus"
13. "Europa (Earth's Cry, Heaven's Smile)" / "I Want You"
14. "Batuka" / "No One To Depend On"

Disc 2:

 1. "Duende" / "Open Invitation"
 2. "Make Somebody Happy" / "Right On Be Free"
 3. "Evil Ways" / "A Love Supreme"
 4. "Sunshine Of Your Love"
 5. "Smooth / "Dame Tu Amor"
 6. "Soul Sacrifice" / Dennis Drum Solo
 7. "Samba Pa Ti"
 8. "Into The Night"
 9. "Love, Peace And Happiness" / "Freedom"

Video Clip:

"Oye Como Va" (from Live At Montreux 2011)

 Styx performs their classics

Blacklight Bar

The Midwestern prog-rock greats release a live set of their two greatest '70s albums.

The Grand Illusion + Pieces Of Eight - Live
ROCK (Eagle Rock Entertainment)

By Fontana/UMG Mktg.

Styx - The Grand Illusion + Pieces Of Eight - Livewo of the most beloved albums in the Styx catalog are 1977's The Grand Illusion and 1978's Pieces Of Eight. On Jan. 31, Eagle Rock Entertainment will release Styx: The Grand Illusion/Pieces Of Eight Live on DVD, Blu-Ray, and DVD/2CD. This show was recorded November 9, 2010 at the historic Orpheum Theater in Memphis, Tennessee, on the tour that saw them perform both these albums in their entirety for the first time.

This 20-song two-hour and 11-minute presentation features stunning high-definition visuals accenting the complex musical arrangements recorded in DTS-HD Master Audio, Dolby Digital 5.1, and LPCM Stereo. The staging of these two multi-platinum albums and the fevered response makes this concert a must for all Styx fans. The Grand Illusion/Pieces of Eight Live also includes the bonus feature "Putting On The Show," an inside look at the people and equipment needed to stage such a massive spectacle.

Selling millions of records worldwide since their 1972 Chicago inception, Styx have branded themselves as one of the greatest American progressive rock bands. The current line-up consists of James "J.Y." Young (vocals, guitars, keyboards); Tommy Shaw (vocals, guitars); Todd Sucherman (drums); Lawrence Gowan (vocals, keyboards); Ricky Phillips (bass, backing vocals) and Chuck Panozzo (bass guitar).  


 1. Intro/1978
 2. "The Grand Illusion"
 3. "Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)"
 4. "Superstars"
 5. Keyboard Interlude
 6. "Come Sail Away"
 7. "Miss America"
 8. "Man In The Wilderness"
 9. "Castle Walls"
10. "The Grand Finale"
11. "Great White Hope"
12. "I'm O.K."
13. "Sing For The Day"
14. "The Message"
15. "Lords Of The Ring"
16. "Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)"
17. "Queen Of Spades"
18. "Renegade"
19. Keyboard Interlude
20. "Pieces Of Eight"
21. "Aku-Aku"

STYX are out on tour:

2.3.12 - Tacoma, WA - Emerald Queen Casino
2.4.12 - Coquitlam, BC - Red Robinson Show Theatre
2.10.12 - Henderson, NV - Green Valley Ranch Events Center
2.10.12 - Wendover, NV - Peppermill Concert Hall
3.2.12 - Mt. Pleasant, MI - Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort
3.9.12 - Miami, FL - Magic City Casino Amphitheater
3.10.12 - Silver Springs, FL - Twin Oaks Amphitheater

Video Clip:

"Blue Collar Man" (from The Grand Illusion + Pieces Of Eight - Live)

Nixon Icon  Best of EXTRA! | EXTRA! | Main Page | Seventies Single Spotlight | Search The RockSite/The Web